a personal homepage


Official Name: Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
Area: 147,181 sq km
Nepal is a landlocked country located between China, in the North, and India in East, West and South. Highest point Mt. Everest (8,848m) and lowest Kechana (60m above sea level)
Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal. Kathmandu is a valley surrounded by four hills – Fulchowki, Chandragiri, Shivapuri and Nagarjun. Kathmandu valley has three major cities Kathmandu, Bhaktapur, Patan. Situated at the altitude of 4,500 feet above sea level, Kathmandu is home to seven UNESCO World Heritage sites. Before the unification of Nepal in the 18th century, the three cities were independent states ruled by the Malla Kings.
Population: 23.1 million (according to the census of 2001)
Language: Nepali is the national language. However, people speak Newari, Bhojpuri, and Maithali among others as their mother tongue. People in the urban areas understand English quite well.
Climate: Nepal has four seasons, namely, (1) Winter (Dec-Feb), (2) Spring (Mar-May), (3) Summer (June-Aug), (4) Autumn (Sept-Nov). Nepal can be visited round the year.
Political System: Multi-Party System of Democracy
People/Religion: Nepal has more than 105 ethnic groups with diverse culture, traditions and lifestyle. Nepali people can be divided into two distinct groups: Indo-Burman and Mongoloid. Nepal is a secular state with majority of people following Hinduism. However, people practicing Buddhism, Christianity and Islam among others live in a good harmony.
Administrative Division: Though Nepal is a federal republic, federal states are yet to be carved. Nepal is divided into five development regions, 14 zones and 75 districts
Geographical Division: Geographically, Nepal is divided into Hills, Mountain and Tarai regions.

World Heritage Sites of Nepal

There are all together nine world heritage sites listed in UNESCO World Heritage list. They are

Major Festivals of Nepal

Nepal is rich in cultural heritage. Here are a lot of festivals celebrate throughout the year. Some of the major festivals are describe here

Zones and Districts of Nepal

Nepal is divided into 14 zones and 75 districts, grouped into 5 development regions. Below is the list of 14 zones and related districts with their headquarters.